Nomination tips: Multicultural Awards

14 June 2018

The deadline to nominate your diversity heroes for Victoria’s Multicultural Awards for Excellence 2018 has now been extended until 2 July 2018.

The awards honour outstanding individuals and organisations that foster cross-cultural understanding, support migrants and refugees, and celebrate and preserve diverse cultures.

If you know of an inspiring person or organisation that is making a real difference in the lives of multicultural Victorians, here are our top four nomination tips.

Tip 1: Tell us how they meet the selection criteria

The 10 award categories represent the broad variety of ways that multiculturalism can be strengthened, and each category has specific selection criteria. Read the selection criteria carefully, select the most suitable award and tell us why your nominee is perfect to receive the award.

Tip 2: Be specific

Sometimes it can be hard to narrow down the list of wonderful contributions that outstanding people make to their communities, but to submit a standout nomination, be sure to include the details of at least one specific project the nominee has undertaken.

Tip 3: Tell us about the impact

Victoria’s Multicultural Awards for Excellence recognise people who are community-focused, so don’t forget to tell us about the way your nominee’s work has achieved positive outcomes for the community. We want to hear all about how  their inspiring achievements have made a difference in other people’s lives.

Tip 4: Submit your nomination easily online 

The easiest way to submit a nomination is by using the online nomination forms on our website.  Simply go to the Multicultural Awards page of, click on the category you wish to nominate for, and click Submit your nomination. You will then be prompted to login or create an account, which requires your name and email. 

Nominations are due by 11:59pm on Monday 2 July 2018. Winners will be celebrated at a ceremony at Government House in September 2018.

Find out more about Victoria’s Multicultural Awards for Excellence at

back to listing >