The Victorian Multicultural Commission (VMC) is establishing Regional Advisory Councils.

Applications have now closed.

Members of the eight Regional Advisory Councils have now been appointed.

Click here for a full list of members

What is a Regional Advisory Council?

RACs are being established in eight regions: Loddon Mallee, Grampians, Barwon South West, Hume, Gippsland, Southern Metropolitan, Eastern Metropolitan and North and West Metropolitan.

The function of the RACs is to provide advice to the VMC on matters relating to multicultural affairs and citizenship in Victoria, including:

  • Advice on settlement issues in the region
  • Advice about local multicultural affairs and citizenship issues
  • Assist the VMC to promote the benefits of cultural and religious diversity
  • Advocating on behalf of culturally and linguistically diverse (CALD) communities
  • Providing advice on communication, engagement and consultation with CALD communities.

Guidelines for the Operation of Regional Advisory Councils 2011

Regional Advisory Councils Information Handbook 2011

Who will be appointed?

Regional Advisory Councils will have up to 13 appointed members:

  • the Chairperson, who is a Commissioner of the VMC
  • seven to nine community representatives, and
  • up to three local government representatives.

The VMC will aim to ensure that RAC members reflect the diversity of the regional community.

For RAC enquiries contact Ben Gullquist on 03 9651 0681.


Events Calendar

There are no upcoming events at this time.

find more events here >