Applications are now open for the Fire Awareness Awards

THE Fire Awareness Awards are a community focussed awards program that acknowledges the great work of individuals, community groups and organisations who deliver projects that help reduce the incidence and impact of fire in Victoria.

Projects can focus on any type of fire, including structure fires (housing, commercial, industrial), bushfires and grassfires.

The Awards have been presented for over 30 years and are a collaborative venture between Victoria’s fire agencies – Country Fire Authority (CFA), Metropolitan Fire and Emergency Services Board (MFB) and Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning (DELWP).
2016 Fire Awareness Awards categories include:
·    Access and Inclusion
·    Community-led Prevention
·    Education
·    Innovation and Design

There are up to three special incentive grants of $2000 available to assist individuals, community groups, schools, volunteers or not-for-profit organisations to undertake a new fire project, or further develop an existing fire project.

Entrants who are selected as finalists by the judging panels will be invited to the 2016 Fire Awareness Awards Ceremony in December where the winners will be announced.

Applications close 15 September 2016.

For more information and to enter the Awards visit the Fire Awareness Awards website.